Friday, July 10, 2015

Special Olympics LA2015 - Murals Welcome Athletes

Los Angeles Welcomes the Special Olympics and pays tribute to its athletes and supporters with three recently completed public murals by renown local artists David Flores, Cryptik and Kent Twitchell.  

"World Stage Legacy" (2015) by David Flores

The Special Olympics World Games Los Angeles (LA2015) will be the largest sports and humanitarian event in the world this year, running from July 25 to Aug. 2, 2015. Flores' recently completed "World Stage Legacy" is at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum where the opening ceremony will be held on July 25, 2015.  Cryptik's "The Greatest" and Kent Twitchell's "Monument to the Special Olympics" are near the L.A. Convention Center.

With President Barack Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama as Honorary Chairs of the Games, accompanied by Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti and California Governor Jerry Brown serving as Honorary Hosts, we hope these mural tributes speak LARGE our L.A. enthusiasm for the Special Olympics.

"The Greatest" (2015) by Cryptik
"Monument to the Special Olympics"
(2015) by Kent Twitchell

At the Coliseum:

“World Stage Legacy” by David Flores
80-foot long mural of Coliseum athletes and performers and Special Olympics figures
Coliseum building west exterior facing Bill Robertson Lane
[on Google Maps]

Near the Convention Center and Staples Center:

“The Greatest” by Cryptik
35-foot portrait of Muhammad Ali with 8 plaques bearing inspirational quotes from Special Olympics athletes and famous persons (Kofi Annan, Eric Chan, Laura Cook, Michelle Core, Nilasha Kurukulasuriya, Marco Martinez, Apolo Ohno, and Dustin Plunkett).
1248 S. Figueroa St., Historic Core, Downtown Los Angeles

"Monument to the Special Olympics" by Kent Twitchell
Double portrait of Special Olympics Ambassadors Rafer Johnson and Loretta Clairborne
1147 S. Hope Street, Historic Core, Downtown Los Angeles
[on Google Maps]

For the rest of L.A.'s public art...
>>> PUBLIC ART IN PUBLIC PLACES:  Public Art in Los Angeles, Southern California and Hawaii